cortisol control for those with post traumatic stress disorder

israelbur

Hello everybody!

My name is israel. I am a 22 year old veteran with PTSD and i have become interested in research regarding controlling cortisol levels as well as dopamine and seratonin levels. My assumption is that there will be several members here that are quite knowledgeable about managing cortisol levels at least because of its relation to building muscle and regulation of ones metabolism.

quotes from neurogistics.com/conditions/panicdisorder.asp

"While a stressful life event or chronically high stress levels can be major contributors, many psychological, lifestyle, genetic and nutritional factors can lead to this condition. Panic Disorder can become debilitating to one’s life, as fear of a panic attack coming on while driving, in public, at work, traveling, and so forth can heighten and amplify one’s anxiety, while hindering their ability to carry on as usual."

"The proper release of adrenaline is determined by the brain. The brain must be well balanced so that the Central Nervous System (CNS), and the body, peripheral nervous system (PNS), can communicate properly."

END OF QUOTES
My questions are as follows:#1what are the best methods from personal experience for regulating overall cortisol levels pertaining to diet, exercise, and supplementation? (I realize that working out at any time causes the body to raise cortisol production. i am interested in rest day management mostly because i wonder about the bodys natural response to exercise in terms of cortisol cycles)

question#2
what are some ways to manage seratonin levels in terms of diet, exercise, sleep patterns and tanning?(im intersted in the production of seratonin from exposure to sunlight should i get out in the sun every day and if im not able to should i use a tanning bed?)

question#3