A more in depth guide to nutrition

RyanDS

I am banned!
Hi all,

I've read the nutrition sticky available and I must say, I disagree with it. Along with my qualifications in the subject, I have 14 years experience in bodybuilding. I'm also working as a PT and dietitian at the moment. So I'm not just going by what I've read, I'm practicing what I preach and have been doing so for many years.

Let me give you a bit more insight into nutrition, as it seems alot of people cannot grasp it.

The simple rules of thumb are; to gain muscle you should bulk (eat more than your body needs to maintain its current weight) and cutting fat is eating slightly less calories than your body needs to maintain its current weight.

You will need a sufficient portion of protein and fats. You don't need to monitor your carbohydrates as they are not a mandatory macronutrient. You should also get a decent spread of micronutrients to ensure there is no deficiency there.

Lets start with the basics.

1). How many calories do I need per day?

Firstly, this will all depend on your weight, age, height, activity, excercise level and ofcourse goals (mainly). Males generally need more than females. Below I will provide a couple of methods you should do to calculate a rough estimation. I must stress that these will never be accurate and you must adjust accordingly depending on how much you gain/lose per week

Katch-McArdle - Said to be the most accurate formula for those who are relatively lean. Use this formula only if you have a good estimate of your bodyfat percentage.
BMR = 370 + (21.6 x LBM)Where LBM = [total weight (kg) x (100 - bodyfat %)]/100

Mifflin-St Jeor - Said to overestimate your results.
MEN: BMR = [9.99 x weight (kg)] + [6.25 x height (cm)] - [4.92 x age (years)] + 5WOMEN: BMR = [9.99 x weight (kg)] + [6.25 x height (cm)] - [4.92 x age (years)] -161

Harris-Benedict formula - Said to be very inaccurate and is recommended you don't use this unless absolutely necessary.