BJJ or MMA

Nerotik

Ok looking for some advice from some of you guys with more experience than me. I started training when I was in Aikido for a couple years then spent a short time in Muay Thai and in my Mid teens spent several months in Ninjutsu until my Sensei went to jail lol. Anyway just a few blocks from my house is a BJJ academy affiliated with Rafael Lovato JR. the instructors name is James Puopolo and he has some serious wins in trophy case. There is also a gym a couple miles away that teaches full on MMA there are several instructors there but the MMA instructor is Dave Hagen you can check out his info here http://http://www.zanshinarts.com/Home/DaJoGenMMABJJMuayThai.aspx anyway I'm 33 and don't have as much time as I would like to learn the arts, like 10 years to get my black belt in BJJ. I really wish I had stuck with it when I was younger and I would be in a better more experienced place now. My goal is to get in fighting shape, maybe even compete in a few matches before I'm way too old. So my question to you guys with experience is, which way do I go? BJJ and grind it out for a years and years or MMA and still dedicate myself for years but have a more well rounded arsenal? Ideally I would like to go to both places but I dunno if I can afford that right now. So what do you think? MMA with a 26 year veteran who as you can see from his info on that link definitely has some serious experience and connections or BJJ with a multiple time medal winner, world champ etc?

start with bjj.. always start with bjj then do mma.. bjj is a staple of mma.. gi jiu jitsu is the fundamental start.. then go into no gi, then mma.. look into mma as you progress into your purple belt

btw im a bjj instructor