Is Tuna actually bad

popeye29

Hey guys im just curious about eating tuna. Im a college student and i have a limited income so tuna is cheap and high in protein.
So i eat about 6-8 cans a day, for the last 6 months.
Im just curious is there any serious side effect when consuming this much tuna and whats your guys opinion.
Thanks guys

The mercury in it. That might not be such a good idea. You wanna switch it up 2. Like chicken breast, Ham. Don't just eat canned food, eat some steak, salad, veggies etc..

Not only the mercury in it, but also the Sodium content. Problem is if you wash the tuna with water to remove the sodium it ends up tasting bland and like cardboard.

There is a thread somewhere on here from me about getting mercury poisoning last year. I was eating about 80-90 ounces a week. It is not as hard as you would think to get it.

It can seriously mess you up, so limit your tuna consumption.

yikes, I hope not I am eating 2-3 cans a day.... after reading above post maybe I'll try and cut back a bit lol

I eat canned tuna three times a week, I wash out the sodium (cardboard flavor) but then squeeze a lemon and put pepper to get some flavor back. But yeah limit it to 3 times a week, mercury poisoning can happen pretty easily if you are downing multiple cans daily.

Tuna is a super food. Not only it is a great source of lean protein, and packed to the gills with nurtients like vitamin B12, Vitamin D and iron, but they also taste great and can be made into dozens of dishes.

Tuna brings so many benefits to your health, but IMO balance is the key. In life and in your diet too. Vegetables and fruits should be a part of your daily diet too. Good luck !

i get my chicken, pork, and ground beef for $1.99 a pound ...... each cooked 8oz serving has about 24g of protein. it really is not much more than tuna. got to look for sales at your grocery.