OK This may sound stupid

cool dude

BUT Im new at this and want to learn. A friend of mine wants to test the purity of some raws he got. I understand that for the reg lay person short of sending the brewed stuff to a lab the melting point would be the other way of telling. How exactly would u conduct that test. Do u put the powder in a solution b4 heating it or do u just put it in a beaker or something similar and then heat it to c at what temp it melts. Appreciate any opinions

If you put it in a solution the melting point will change. You want only powder (or liquid depending on the temperature) in a clean beaker. Then insert thermometer and slowly heat to ensure even heat distribution and accurate reading. That should get you very close as far as the melt test is concerned.

If you put it in a solution the melting point will change. You want only powder (or liquid depending on the temperature) in a clean beaker. Then insert thermometer and slowly heat to ensure even heat distribution and accurate reading. That should get you very close as far as the melt test is concerned.

Thanks Bob thats what I figured cz it only makes sense.

Thanks Bob thats what I figured cz it only makes sense.

The search is disabled right now or I would have hunted it down for you, but look for a thread from jstarks11 titled "my melt point protacol". It'll show you a cool way to test the melting point

The search is disabled right now or I would have hunted it down for you, but look for a thread from jstarks11 titled "my melt point protacol". It'll show you a cool way to test the melting point

Yes good call. I had read that some time ago and totally forgot about it. That's an experienced member's method and will work great for this.

Is this the only method to check if the powder is good?
Or is it possible to send it somewhere to