The evolution of steroids in the 90s - Need help

mtommy

Hey guys,

I'm a writer looking to get a low down on the evolution of anabolic steroids, masking agents and narcotics in professional sports. As simply put in layman terms as humanly possible. Specifically from the late 1980s-00s. If anyone can give me a brief timeline of what was hot in the 80s onward, that would be a huge help!

I've dug up several articles and have learned quite a bit, but I also get lost in some of the scientific minutia of it all.

So, for anyone that's a brain when it comes to sports doping and the advancement of steroids. Feel free to share and here are some questions:

1) What were the new masking agents and steroids that became big in the early-mid 90s? And why.
2) Were steroids typically imported (trafficked) from foreign countries like Thailand/Australia into the US or made domestically in the 90s? If so, was it by using raw materials smuggled in via Mexico?
3) Did athletes/sports teams outsource their dealings with secret steroid dealers or did team physicians usually do the doping ? Both?
4) Rank masking agents from best to worst? (Again, ones you would see from the 80s-2000s.) For ex. "X was shit because it was very basic and easy to detect by WADA because.... while Y was a bit more advanced and trickier to catch..."
5) What injectable narcotic was common among athletes who wanted to stay in games -- even with broken bones? Pentazocine?

I apologize in advance if any of these questions don't make remote sense or are convoluted, but I'm still early into the research and know next to nothing about this world. Many thanks!

Last edited:
Do you have Dan Duchaine's book (underground steroid handbook)? Probably not easy to find but it would be a good starting point.

Asking an awful lot for post numero uno. But I'm sure someone who alot of time on their hands may chime in :)