Bench Press Injuries

iron addict

This is a response to a guy that has been having bench press related injury problems with the high school football players he is coaching that found that while having his players do dumbbell benches reduced the injuries a lot, it wasn’t providing good carry-over to their regular bench presses. Some will ask why anyone would care if the athlete was getting stronger and not getting injured. Want to get a fat football scholarship? You can bet the college coaches will care how much you can bench and squat. Pec and rotator cuff injuries can be career threatening, but if you know how to go about it, the potential can be greatly reduced. Here is the response:

I have a LOT of experience with your exact problem. While it is not across the board, it is USUALLY with younger lifters that NEED to have very close neural pattern adaptation to the specific lift they are doing to have good carry-over. More mature, and often more talented lifters see across the board increases. Their dumbbell benches go up, their benches go up, their incline presses go up, their benches go up......not so with many lifters. If you want these lifters benches to increase the motor unit firing pattern better be damn close to actual bench pressing or it isn't going to happen. We both know machines are out. I have nothing against machines because I understand their limitations. You can get a lot bigger and stronger using machines.....just don't expect a linear or even close carry-over to free weights or athletic events as is your case.