Herniated Disk... Ouch!

wannabe_big2

I have been working out for 24 yrs. Thought i new what i was doing,but after squatting fairly heavy i hurt my back,after about 1 week and not no better went to doc.After another week no better doc did mri. Not to good,disk protrusion at T11-12,disk extrusion at L4-5 and L5-s1 disk bulge,ugh.Just need to know if down the road could i ever squat again lightly of course or something else just as good.I was getting great results all my life from squatting hate to give up.I guess its mostly mental but i am addicted to squats. Very hard to give up so any help on this matter would be very appreciated,thanks.

Thats honestly a question for your doc! Id imagine press's are gonna be your only option. Why risk an injury?

thats bullshit, i slipped a disk in my back and was back squatting in a month. i have a good friend whos a physio and we worked on getting the spinal swelling down and strenghtening it till it was iron again. SEE A GOOD PHYSIO, get it sorted and i garuntee you you'll squat again. louie simmons has broken just about everything and still managed to total elite in 5 different weight classes...

No need to do true squats. I have had herniated disks at L4 and L5 for about 10 years and I have arthritis in my neck. I have avoided squats and deads and still have a good lower body. Leg presses, extensions etc. Also, if you are dead set on doing squats you can put a 5 lb plate under each heel and try it with light weight at first. This seemed to help me and I got that from Chris Cormier who has the same 2 bulging disks as me. Good Luck.