Planning wife's 1st cut but I'm no expert

Body_weight02

Long post warning! Her Stats: 5'3", 131lb, 33yr, 25% bf, 4 years training. Currently weight trains 5 days a week/Cardio 2 days a week. For the last year she has been reverse dieting and has her maintenance cal. at 2,100 right now. She is planning to attempt a cut this spring but I am unsure about how quick to drop
Her calories. I personally have a low bf naturally so I've never tried a true cut myself. I know to increase cardio and lower weight/increase reps but when it comes to cal. is it best to drop 300-400 cal for a couple weeks then repeat to say around 1,200 or drop by a small % every week for around 10-12 weeks to around 1,200? She has no plans to run gear, be natty with the exception of a possible otc fat burner or maybe a sarms cycle.

Her current macro's are 136 pro, 285 carb, 52 fat. She is still increasing carbs weekly 8% until she finds her true maintenance or until mid march

The math on those macros comes out to exactly 2100 cals just like you said.....GREAT job. Sounds like you guys have it dialed in. You need 3j to chime in here and give some input on the safest way to lose weight without sacrificing too much muscle. A little more challenging without the gear but it can definitely be done if ya take it slow.
Is this for competition? Just curious.
I'm sure some guys will be able to give much better advice than I can. Best of luck to you both

One more little thing.....11 or 12 pounds will get her to around 16%, which looks amazing on a woman. So assuming that's what you're shooting for I'd plan on taking 2.5 months. A pound a week is slow loss but saves as much muscle as possible in my opinion. So 400 to 500 less calories per day....OR more cardio equal to 400 cals burned. Either way a few hundred under maintenance is a great starting point.

Sorry for the long reply. I'm sure you guys already know all this bit it's all I got :)
Again......good luck

Last edited: