New to Deadlifts...Advice

Savage Tenacity

Alright guys, yea I've been lifting for the last 5 years now. And yes, I have neglected one of the most (if not the most) respected lifts out there. I got by with bench, squat, power clean, overhead press, and rows for my mass building exercises. After the urging of a few respected members here, I have thrown deadlifts into my workout on back and bi's day. I know form is very important, and I just was looking for some advice. Yesterday was my third time doing the exercise over the last 3 weeks, and I decided I would push myself to my one rep max, just to see where I'm at. Not the smartest idea, but that's just how I am.

My routine looked as follows....

135 x 12

185 x 12

225 x 10

275 x 10

315 x 1

335 x 1

365 x 1

I chose to stop here because i began to feel a stiffness in my lower back region. I may have been able to lift more, but probably not a whole lot. I figured I got plenty of time to go up. Today I have a stiffness in my lower back thats not killing me, but it is noticeable. I was wondering if this is normal? chest is sore after benching, glutes hammies and quads after squats, so is lower back pain normal after deads? i also feel it in my upper back, my shoulder blades, my traps, and glutes.

I'm 22, still all natty, currently cutting, so my weights are dropping a bit. down from 202 in winter to about 192 now. about 12-14% body fat. Any advice?

long as your form is good you should be good to go. I always have some stiffness in my lower back after deadlifts. they are some good videos on youtube of correct posture if you think you are doing it wrong. everyone does it different. main thing is to keep your back straight.

thanks for the advice. i wasnt sure of my form because I like to do my heavy lifts away from people...that also puts me away from the mirrors in my gym to see if i'm keeping my back straight. i wanted to make sure the lower back stiffness was normal