Pros and Cons of doing TRT as prescribed versus just doing a 500mg/week test cycle

texas.redneck

I'm a newbie to TRT but a veteran to 12 week Test only cycles at 500mg/week. Can someone please talk to me about pros and cons of doing TRT as prescribed versus just doing a 500mg/week test cycle? Here is the background and context:

I'm 38 years old, 5'11", 185lbs, 10-15% bodyfat range. I got an itch back when I was 36 years old (two years ago) to try steroids. So I checked out the mens T clinic and found out those clinics are joke. However, my Chiropractor told me about a family physician that would just prescribe 10ml vials of cyp and you just had to check in every 3 months or so for labs and bloodwork. So I did that for about a year, filled my scripts but never took the Test Cyp (I have a 3 vial collection in my medicine cabinet)

The reason I never took the Test Cyp as prescribed was because I just bought some gear online and did two 12 week 500mg cycles (one in spring and another in winter). I got blood work in middle of one of the cycles and all labs were in acceptable range (estradiol dihydro, etc. etc.), except obviously my testosterone levels were through the roof. The actual doctors note on the labs said "Test too high. other labs ok"...lololol. About a month and half after cycle I got labs again and I was right back where I started before even messing with testosterone.

So now I have this medicine cabinet full of Test Cyp and I'm debating actually taking as prescribed for TRT (I think 0.25cc twice a week) versus running another 500mg/week cycle with it. My only goals are for athletic performance and my only athletic performance goals are to cheat back to my natural athletic abilities and not feel like my body is falling apart. I don't have problem in bedroom or anything. Honestly my testosterone is not even "low" its just that my "free test" is not in the "optimal" range (to use the joke of a Men's T clinic terminology).