The Brit gets ripped; strong and shredded!

The_Brit

Transformation log: Cutting from Aug '13 to Dec '13

Ok...so where to start...

Well my love is (and always will be) Strength training. Like most I started off running a normal body-building split, and before I knew it I was focussing on adding more and more weight to the bar whilst keeping good form. I wasn't interested in getting the “pump” that some people enjoy, I was in love with the “sick in your mouth, blurry eyed satisfaction” that comes with squeezing out one more rep to achieve a PB on a lift!

So with time, my training slowly shifted to a more strength based routine – firstly just working in the 4-6 rep range whilst running a normal split, then over to a 5x5 routine, and then finally onto Jim Wendlers 531 routine – which I have been using for the last 2 years or so. I LOVE IT! What I would give to get over the pond and into state side territory to attend one of his seminars

In Aug '12 I deployed to Afghanistan for an 8 month tour, and ironically my training went through the roof. I found myself religiously squeezing in 6 sessions a week, whilst conditioning in the avid heat. My tour finished early April '13 and within being back in the UK a matter of weeks I managed to slip two discs in my lower back :(

How did I do it.... Squatting silly weights? Dead lifting silly weights?.... nope, neither! I jarred by back whilst on my motorbike. I didn't realise what I had done, and it took me 3 weeks to get to the doctors to see them about it. During the 3 weeks I continued to train, ran a half marathon, and did a few other silly things. All this time my injury was getting worse.

Long story short.... I'm now no longer bed bound, have piled on a few more pounds, and will be on a personal quest to reclaim some of my lost strength (whilst losing those lbs) between now and christmas.