WTF Should I do?!!

F

Fighting Irish

Hey all,

Bit of a dilemma. Ive been training loads since getting back into the gym approx 6 months ago, and really committed myself to a weights program (which I have never done before, nor have I ever stuck to exercise this long either, I used to get bored and give up) which I am delighted to say has started to pay off.

BUT.... I started to get pain in my left foot and I ignored it for a while but when it showed no sign of easing ( & I started to get pain in my left knee too ) I figured I better get it seen to. The physio said to me that he recommended I STOP training completely, that I have to go back to basics.. core strength exercises or something to strengthen my eh core (haha) and then in turn that will help my weight distribution on my feet and everything will come right after that. Also he recommended I get orthotics as I supposedly dont stand right, and due to that when I squat im tearing ligaments in the arches of my feet??!

I am totally gutted. I dont know what to do, this is the first time Ive seen results through hard fricken work and now if I take his advise it will all just waste away :(

So not happy. Anyone else had a similar issue?:sad:

Last edited:
I think its squats thats causing the problem. I squat 25kg , 12 reps x 4 sets 4-5 times a week. Dead lift 35 Kg same reps as above.

Rest of program wouldnt really affect my feet/knees as its upper body.

Im seriously beginner at all this so sorry if im coming across as completely thick!!

Hmmmm.... you could modify squats at home. Place folded towel under feet, put your back/butt against the wall, squat and hold squat for 20 seconds. Do 3 sets of 10. Try barefooted and see if that helps no pain in feet.

Dead lifts... you can bent rows or reverse cable flys for u. back and reverse sit ups for l. back.

Y squats 4-5x a week?