Is your TT trough reading, really your trough? Or actually close to your Peak???

halfape211

Not Novice, But Not Pro
I ask members to consider this and give an opinion. I find there are two ways to look at this and here's why.

We always speak of a TT trough reading, as being taken just before the next injection. Sounds sensible on the surface.
Doctors generally ask to have weekly injections and a Blood test just prior to the next injection. So that's getting a blood test seven days after the last injection, right? Given seven days after an injection is what I and many doctors consider to be a trough. (To be clear, I'm not saying I'm a doctor.)

So if Doctors allow our TT to drop over 7 days, why do many of us take a blood test at 3.5 days? Is 3.5 days after injection, actually very close to our peak numbers as I think we peak about the second day? (I'll let someone else provide the more accurate peak date, but I don't think I'm too far off.) For everyone plus those who want a higher TT in our bodies, are we not gypping ourselves by testing on the 3.5 day versus waiting 7 days?? Yes I understand that most inject twice per week, and therefore we blood test 3.5 days later. However if all "2 pins a week" people waited 7 days to blood test and the next injection, I think they would get a number that better represents their real trough. I worked it out, based on a 7 or 8 day half life, the amount of T in you body at the 7 day mark is only 10% less then if you were pinning once a week. Consider (A) You have the same amount of T (within 10%) in your body at the 7 day mark whether you had been pinning once or twice a week. (B) but at seven days, you have allowed enough days from injection to actually be in the trough.