Newb Requesting Help Packing on Pounds

reb85

Hey, I'm new to this and I want to pack on as many upper body muscle pounds as possible in six weeks; muscle that will stay if I work on it. I am looking for suggestions based on my personal situation.

I'm 21 years old, 5'10", 140lbs, and I looked ripped but obviously that's only because I'm very thin. I have limited access to a bench, so would rather work without iron, if gains can be made that way. I have a 20lb set of wrist/ankle weights.

So there's all the bad stuff. Here's the good stuff: I've very driven and have good willpower, so I will faithfully do what I need to do. I have time (though I've found I respond best to low-volume, high-intensity training best anyway), some money for supplements, and I am willing to work hard. I don't eat junk food, don't smoke, and I have an active lifestyle.

I put together a 4 day per week workout plan that will start with six weeks of a few reps and sets, and then the next six weeks would be fewer sets with more reps. I would alternate the days:

Day 1

Push-ups, 5 sets, 5-7 reps
Elevated Push-ups, 5 sets, 5-7 reps
Shoulder Push-ups, 5 sets, 5-7 reps
Dips, 5 sets, 5-7 reps
Seated Leg Tuck, 3 sets, 20 reps

Day 2

Pull-ups, 5 sets, 5-7 reps
Wide-grip pull-ups, 5 sets, 5-7 reps
Reverse-grip pull-ups, 5 sets, 5-7 reps
Crunches, 3 sets, 25 reps
Bent-knee Raises, 2 sets, 20 reps

So Monday would be day one, Tuesday day 2, Thursday day 1, Friday day 2. Then start again next Monday. Wrist/ankle weights used to increase intensity. Can this be effective?

I want to stay away from drugs/supplements that are liver-toxic, cause acne, excessive water retention, and potential long-term health issues. I don't mind nausea or shit like that.

I appreciate your help and would be happy to document what I do so you guys can see what kind of results can be achieved by someone like me.

Last edited: