Best Way to Test Melting Points

t4l

I was wondering what the best would be to go about testing the melting points of some hormone powders that I have. Should I melt them in water and check the temperature of the water? Should I put the powder in a vial, then put that in boiling or hot water on the stove? I'm new to brewing, so I was just looking for the best ways.

t4l said:
I was wondering what the best would be to go about testing the melting points of some hormone powders that I have. Should I melt them in water and check the temperature of the water? Should I put the powder in a vial, then put that in boiling or hot water on the stove? I'm new to brewing, so I was just looking for the best ways.
You can find the melting points online. If you put the hormone inside water, water will evaporate before the hormone ever will. Water has a boiling point of 120f, in which it then begins to evaporate. Some hormones such as Drol, have a melting point of 180 Celcius. It will only melt in a solvent when heated beyond that point. The solvent at that point may also start to evaporate at that stage (keep the windows open).

You don't really have to go through the trouble of finding the melting point if your home brewing... not that there is anything wrong with that either..

typically though, once you've done your first batch whatever size of batch you plan to make, you'll have a better idea exactly what your doing after that.

For instance, say your making 100ml of something..

Take a good 250ml beaker... and measure 100mls of water and pour it into the beaker... now score or mark the beaker at the 100ml mark the water outlines, not where the beaker shows 100ml (it can be surprisingly off). Then empty and clean your beaker as best you can. (later you'll filter anyway so cleanlyness while it's always important, it's not vital at this point).