Any Personal Trainers on Here?

DaHurt

Motivated
Hi guys & gals,

I am looking to get certified very soon and was wondering if any of you are CPTs? If so, which cert's do you have? And if you're more of a bodybuilder/powerlifter type, how have your clients reacted? Do you think it helps or hurts to be "buff" as a personal trainer?

I only ask because my guess is that many clients are looking to 'just lose some fat and tone up' and may be dissuaded by a beefy bodybuilder or powerlifter - OR they may interpret your physique as meaning you know how to get results.

Just interested, because I have aspirations to compete as a BBer, and work as a personal trainer/nutritionist eventually.

Cheers!
D

I am studying currently to be an ACE certified personal trainer. My girl is a trainer as well. I have always held back from being a trainer in the past because I didnt think I was big or strong enough. Now I feel that I am. That is all an ego thing though. I think it certainly helps to be strong and muscular. It shows that you know what your doing.

Yeah I am tending to lean towards that too - how is ACE going? I was thinking ACSM, NASM, or ACE. I was really only concerned because all the trainers in my gym are smaller (and not in great shape, which is kind of funny) - and sometimes I see them giving me looks - like something is wrong with my training, probably just me being paranoid. Anyways, I must be doing something right - a guy came up to me today and asked if I could work with him on weekends, I'm pretty stoked about that!

Did you get the ACE Premier Study Bundle? If so, has that been pretty much everything you've needed for studying?

Yeah bro I think its funny when male trainers don't even look muscular at all. I did get the ACE bundle that you speak of. It has everything you need in it. Its going well, i'm just struggling with procrastinating on it.

Sweet - it looks like a pretty good bundle. Kind of leaning toward ACE now after perusing their website for a while.